Jump to a specific section of this page

EligibilityNomination FormPast Recipients


Eligibility: Nominees must have been employed in the applicable category by a public safety agency or actively in Communications Training during the time for which they are nominated. Nominees do not have to be members of the Missouri Professional Training Partnership, Missouri APCO, Missouri NENA, or Missouri 9-1-1 Director’s Association.

  • Director of the Year– Director, Assistant Director, Executive Director, Deputy Director, PSAP Manager, Communication Center Director, Communications Director/Manager, Communications Administrator, Center Manager, Communications Chief, Public Safety Manager
  • Supervisor Nomination – Dispatch Supervisor, Shift Supervisor, Supervising Dispatcher, Supervisor, Shift Manager/Supervisor, Communications Supervisor, Communications Shift Supervisor, Operations Supervisor, Emergency Resource Supervisor, Telecommunications Supervisor, Senior Fire Communications Supervisor
  • George Major Trainer Nomination– Plans, develops, schedules and conducts on the job and/or classroom training for 911 and public safety communications call takers, dispatchers and supervisors; evaluates trainees’ skills and job performance; plans and/or develops advanced training for 911 public safety communications call takers, dispatchers and supervisors; assists with developing and enhancing trainees’ professional knowledge, skill, and ability through in-service training or career development training.
  • Team Nomination – This award is designed to honor two or more individuals from the same emergency communications agency that worked on the same incident or event.  Eligible candidates must have worked on the incident, project or event as a team and must all be employed by the same emergency communications agency.
  • Telecommunicator Nomination – Functions as a front line dispatcher or call taker for police, fire, and/or EMS agencies. Operates telecommunications equipment to receive emergency and non-emergency phone calls. Determines situations from callers and ascertains all required information for dispatch of a call. Relays information to a dispatcher (if a separate position) via CAD or manual dispatch cards.  Operates radio equipment to dispatch first responder units to request emergency services; receives radio traffic from first responders; monitors emergency and support radio frequencies.
  • Hero Nomination – This award is designed to honor a youth whose courage and determination to obtain assistance for another person during a critical event went above and beyond all expectation.  The award winner will have shown exceptional calm while providing essential information for call takers and responders.  Must have initiated or been the primary contact with a Missouri communications center during the incident.
  • Information Technologist Nomination – Systems Administrator, Information Technologist Specialist, Information Technologist, Network Administrator, Systems Engineer, Senior Computer Analyst, CAD/GIS Administrator, Network Services Supervisor, NCIC/CAD System Manager, Technician, 9-1-1 Systems, Information Technology Coordinator, Senior Project Manager, Records Technician (Master Addressing Guide – MSAG Coordinator), Mobile/CAD System Administrator, Information Technology Specialist 4, IT Tech and Address/Mapping Coordinator, Operations Support Technician, GIS Analyst, Radio Technologist.
  • Radio Technologist Nomination – Radio Frequency Director , Electronics Communications Technician, Telecommunications Engineer, Communications Technician Supervisor, Senior Communications Technician, Radio Lead Technician, Radio Technician, Technical Systems Administrator, Radio Frequency Engineer, Communications Technician,  9-1-1 Systems Technician, Telecommunication Services Engineer, Radio Network Engineer, Radio Frequency Systems Engineer Manager


The nomination period is currently closed. The 2021 nomination period will open up towards the end of the year or early 2021.

Thank you!

Past Recipients

2019 Public Safety Communications Awards Recipients

Award NameWinnerAgency
Director of the YearMike PhillipsBarry County E9-1-1
Supervisor of the YearChristina SmithRolla Police Department
Telecommunicator of the YearMichelle MaplesIndependence Police Department
Team of the YearChristian County Emergency Services Christian County Emergency Services
“George Major” Trainer of the YearZachary DykesMSHP – Troop D
Technician of the YearDavid TuckerIndependence Police Department
President’s AwardScott Pennman & Ms. Niell

Past Public Safety Communications Award Recipients


Award NameWinnerAgency
Director of the YearKwabena AsanteOsage Beach Police Department
Supervisor of the YearAndrea KhanKansas City Police Department
Telecommunicator of the YearPatricia LimbaughMSHP – Troop E
Team of the YearKellie Balcom, Kelsey Talbert and Jim LangleyJASCO
“George Major” Trainer of the YearKima BurnettJASCO
Technician of the YearBradley CoffeyMSHP – GHQ
Hero of the YearWilliam Rebman (Age 11)Kansas City Fire Department
President’s AwardRoger MartinMSHP – GHQ


Award NameWinnerAgency
Director of the YearBecky BaconChristian County Emergency Services
Supervisor of the YearChristopher NicholsonMSHP – Troop H
Telecommunicator of the YearCharles ShepardDade County
Team of the YearAlicia Davis, Amy Barrett, Maygon Matlage, Lisa Lake, Grace Link, Valesha WilsonChristian County Emergency Services
“George Major” Trainer of the YearCheryl KonarskiDade County
Technician of the YearKevin FrancisStoddard County
Hero of the YearNeveah Thomas (Age 5)Pulaski County Central Communications


Award NameWinnerAgency
Director of the YearZim SchwartzeSpringfield-Greene County 9-1-1
Supervisor of the YearDawn MooreMSHP – Troop E
Team of the YearMartinez and LooneyOsage Beach Police Department
“George Major” Trainer of the YearBob LarimerMSHP – Troop D
Hero of the YearEmma Miller
President’s AwardLisa SchlottachGasconade County 9-1-1
Friend of 9-1-1 AwardPenman & Winton
Special AwardJeanie Lauer


Award NameWinnerAgency
Director of the YearBonnie Witt-SchulteMonett 9-1-1
Supervisor of the YearLaura McDonaldOsage Beach Police Department
Team of the YearDonna Beeks, Rob Massengale, Matt D’Amore, Brandy Coffey, Emmily BolenPolk County Central Dispatch
“George Major” Trainer of the YearKendra ShellMSHP – Troop E
Hero of the YearEllie Marie Miller
President’s AwardMike Turner ESL, Kima Burnett (MOTERT), Lori BielawskiMultiple Agencies
Lifetime AchievementCharlie Bonnie


Award NameWinnerAgency
Director of the YearJR WebbSpringfield-Greene County 9-1-1
Supervisor of the YearDavid DriskellChristian County E9-1-1
Telecommunicator of the YearJeremy LeeMaryland Heights Police Department
“George Major” Trainer of the YearKris Inman Springfield-Greene County 9-1-1
President’s AwardCorey ChaneyMSHP – GHQ


Award NameWinnerAgency
Director of the YearPaula VolkmerRolla Police Department
Supervisor of the YearSaralynn HayesMid-America Regional Council
Telecommunicator of the YearTracy HuxMSHP – Troop H
Team of the YearSusan Carroll and Jenall WatkinsBarry County E9-1-1
“George Major” Trainer of the YearLaurie WallMSHP – Troop H
President’s AwardRobin TiemanCass County 9-1-1


Award NameWinnerAgency
Director of the YearLori SneedDade County 9-1-1
Telecommunicator of the YearChelsea KincaidO’Fallon Police Department
“George Major” Trainer of the YearPam GilliganMSHP – Troop F
President’s AwardDan RowdenSt. Charles County 9-1-1


Award NameWinnerAgency
“George Major” Trainer of the YearBarbara GrahamMSHP – Troop F
President’s AwardThe Communications Professionals of Joplin and Jasper CountyMultiple Agencies